Election Commission announced schedule for MLC polls

 Telangana | Written by : Suryaa Desk Updated: Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 10:47 AM

The model code of conduct came into force in the Telugu states on Monday with the Election Commission of India announcing the schedule for MLC polls from the MLA quota. Home minister Mohd Mahmood Ali from  Telangana state and two from Andhra Pradesh will complete their term on March 29, along with seven other MLCs.

The election notification will be published on February 21 and the last date for filling nominations is February 28. Scrutiny will be done on March 1, and the last date for withdrawals is March 5.

If necessary, polling will be held on March 12 from 9 am to 4 pm and counting of votes will begin at 5 pm. Others from TS whose Council term concludes are Mr Ponguleti Sudhakar Reddy,  Mohammad Ali Shabbir (both Congress), T. Santosh Kumar and Mohammad Saleem (both TRS).

In Andhra Pradesh, the terms of ministers Yanamala Ramakri-shnudu and P. Narayana, TD MLCs Lakshmi Siva Kumari and P. Samantha-kamani and the YSRC’s Adireddy Appa Rao will end on March 29.