Sixth time MLA Errabelli's dream comes true

 Telangana | Written by : Suryaa Desk Updated: Tue, Feb 19, 2019, 10:10 AM

Hyderabad:  Six-time MLA Errabelli Dayakar Rao is all set to take oath as a minister in the K. Chandrasekhar Rao cabinet on Tuesday, fulfilling a long-cherished dream. 

Contesting on the TRS ticket for the first time, he won from Palakurthi constituency for the third consecutive time. Dayakar Rao began his political career as a founding member of the Telugu Desam party. Of the seven times he contested to the Assembly, he lost just once and won six times on a trot.

After tasting defeat in 1983, he was elected thrice from Wardhannapet constituency in 1994, 1999 and 2004. After the constituency was reserved for SCs during the delimitation, he moved to Palakurthi and won in 2009, 2014 and in 2018.

He was also a Lok Sabha member for a brief period from 2008 to 2009. During the by-election held after the resignation of several elected representatives during the agitation for separate Telangana state, he was elected to the 14th parliament.

He switched to the TRS in 2016 while he was the TDLP floor leader. Even though he was a successful politician, he never got the chance of becoming a minister.